banner ad
Legacy Pages

2017 CORE Legacy



IRB Memo: There's a Pause, Just Don't Say It

Date: January 9, 2013

Author: David Carrigy

To: Secretaries / Chief Executive Officers of Unions and Regional Associations in Membership of the IRB
From: David Carrigy, iRB Head of External & Member Relations

Re: Law Trials - Scrum engagement procedure

Following the introduction of the" Crouch, Touch, Set" instructions for scrum engagement as part of the current set of Law trials it has become evident that some referees are not leaving a pause between the "Touch" request and the "Set" request. The pause is required to ensure that the front row players are steady and are able to locate where they will engage.

The Scrum Steering Group and the Laws Representation Group have reconfirmed that the Trial Law 20.1(g) should read:
The referee will call “crouch” then “touch”. The front rows crouch and using their outside arm each prop touches the point of the opposing prop’s outside shoulder. The props then withdraw their arms. Following a pause the referee will then call “set” when the front rows are ready. The front rows may then engage. The “set” call is not a command but an indication that the front rows may come together when ready.

Please note the Referee must not say the word pause. A video resource is under production and will be available at, Law Application Guidelines from Monday January 14, 2013.

Sign Up
©2010 CORE
All rights reserved.
Built by Legacysite Inc.