Okanagan Elementary Touch Rugby Just Keeps Growing!


In 2018, the Anne McClymont Timberwolves defeated the Helen Gorman Cougars 2 - 1 in an overtime thriller to win the Central Okanagan Elementary Touch Rugby Championship.  16 schools will compete for the Worrall Cup this year.  Who will hoist the cup in 2019?

The elementary touch program continues to grow, with over 320 boys and girls participating in practices this week.  Games start April 24, with the championship tournament being held at Parkinson fields on June 12.

Participating schools in 2019 are Aberdeen Hall, cup holder Anne McClymont, Bankhead, Belgo, Casorso, Chief Tomat, Chute Lake, George Pringle, Glenmore, Helen Gorman, Hudson Road, Mar Jok, Pearson, Quigley, Rose Valley, and Rutland.  

"We are excited to see the growth in opportunity for our youth to play touch rugby," said Derek Worrall, the coordinator of the local touch rugby programs.  "We are very thankful for the many teachers and volunteers who are taking the time to support the elementary touch programs."

The schedule for 2019 games is available below.  Come out and watch where rugby begins in the Central Okanagan!




New Summer Touch Season Starts Strong
The Smart Decision of Three Pioneer Rugby Sponsors


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment
Already Registered? Login Here
Monday, 02 August 2021